Planning an Eco-Indie Wedding

Location: The Webb Barn, Connecticut

Posted on: January 31, 2009

Just yesterday, my mother, fiance, and I visited the wonderfully historical Webb Barn in Wethersfield, Connecticut. Another barn option, this one was even more “rustic” than the The Barns at Wesleyan Hills we had previously visited.

Unlike The Barns at Wesleyan Hills, we are wide open as far as choosing our own caterer … etc., so we could still have the country barn ambiance with a lot more freedom. They had nicely remodeled restrooms, a well-sized garden, lots of parking, and a huge kitchen for the caterer to use.

The drawbacks? It is located in downtown Old Wethersfield, which while much more quiet than you average mid-sized city, it is still a downtown area which means some unpleasant noise.

Also, my mother and my fiance were a bit worried about the barn itself. It looked sturdy from my view, but they both described it as “grungy“, which looking back, I can easily see their point. I personally love the history and rustic-style of the location, but I can understand how its age may cause some unforeseen issues along the way.

Don’t get me wrong – it is not a bad location by any means, but the location we visited right before it (more details in my next post!) offered many more options for a smaller fee – and still offered a great nature connection.

1 Response to "Location: The Webb Barn, Connecticut"

Leave a Reply

